Borrowed From The Boys

THIS IS A GUEST POST

By: Robin

She is a fellow September birthday. (Sept. 19th) Happy Birthday Robin! And thanks for posting!

 

Menswear for women has been a rising trend over the last few years and shows no signs of going away. I love that adding a little menswear to my style gives a great balance to any of my outfits. Today, I’m highlighting several different pieces of menswear in one outfit to give you ideas on how to incorporate them into your daily wardrobe. I choose menswear inspired clothing rather than wearing actual men’s clothes – you still get the style without sacrificing the fit.

A newsboy cap is a fun way to make things more interesting by bringing a vintage vibe to your outfit. I don’t know why more girls don’t wear hats, they are one of my favorite accessories. This newsboy cap will make you stand out from the standard fedora.

The navy blazer is a staple that you only need to invest in (a good one) once because they are classy and have never gone out of style. It’s a versatile piece that you can dress up and dress down. A sign of a well made blazer is the weight of the buttons – I love the gold tone ones on mine!

Large watches are not just for your grandpa. The right watch will add a great look to your outfit while being very functional. Whenever I wear mine I’m reminded at how much easier it is to check my wrist for the time than to dig out my phone. I love using tortoise shell as a neutral, so this goes with all my fall outfits.

My favorite piece – the rugby shirt. Very underrated, and if you haven’t tried one on you’re missing out on arguably the most comfortable shirt you’ll ever wear. This one is from Ralph Lauren’s Rugby line and has this great detail under the back collar.

Loafers are another classic that you’ll want to go to time and time again. Sperry gave me this pair and they are my most comfortable pair of shoes. I love loafers with fringe, tassels, or a buckle that provides an old school flair.

While you don’t need to incorporate all of these at the same time, it’s fun to take one or two pieces to wear into the upcoming fall season.

Robin V.

Leave a Reply

